An audio-visual journey through the castle's history.
Take an exciting journey through time and discover the history of the Hohennagold Castle with our audio guide and immerse yourself into medieval castle life. Impressive images of the 3D-reconstruction and background information bring the former Hohennagold Castle back to life.
Two epochs dominate the history of the Castle Hohennagold: the Celtic Age and the Middle Ages. Around 500 B.C. there was a fortified celtic settlement on the Castle Mountain, which was supposedly the home of a Celtic Prince. There are no visible remains of this fortification.
During the 8th Century, the Counts of the Province of Nagold (Nagoldgaugrafen) ruled over the franconien King’s Court, which Remigius Church was a part of. It is possible, that there was a castle on the mountain at this time. Descendents of the Counts of the Province of Nagold were the Counts, and later the Palatine Counts, of Tübingen. The oldest remains of the castle date before 1200. Through a marriage at about 1230, Nagold then belonged to the Counts of Hohenberg, who then expanded the fortification. In 1363, the Counts of Württemberg bought Nagold with its castle from the impoverished Counts of Hohenberg.
Shortly before the end of the Thirty-Years-War (1618-1648), on the first Sunday in Advent 1645, troops of the Electorate of Bavaria conquered the fortification and destroyed it. By order of the Duke of Württemberg, the castle was torn down. Almost 400 years later, we can discover how Hohennagold looked in a digital reconstruction.
And lastly, the answer to the question: „Fort or Castle?“
Hohennagold was built as a medieval fortification. A castle or palace is for representation, for extravagant parties, hunts and other leisure activities of the nobility. Sometime after 1363, Hohennagold was called the „Mountaincastle of Nagold“. This “fortified castle” had an important military function and was used by the Counts and Dukes of Württemberg as a temporary residence while traveling. The term used in english is „Hohennagold Castle“.
The three most important sources are the engraving from Matthäus Merian dated 1643, correspondence of the administrators of Nagold from 1644 (before the destruction of the castle) and from 1645 (after its destruction), as well as reports about archaeological excavations on Hohennagold during the 1930s.
The complete 3D reconstruction model, created by the architectural historian Apl. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Julian Hanschke, can be explored here (external link in German). The reconstruction shows the condition of the castle ruins before they were destroyed in 1644.
Texts: Judith Bruckner, Julian Hanschke
Editorial: Judith Bruckner
The outer bailey is also called tournament garden and dates back to the 15th century. (Learn more)
The moat with its steep sides separates the outer bailey from the main castle. (Learn more)
The basic form of the medieval main castle is a triangle. (Learn more)
The watch-tower was the last refuge and defence post. (Learn more)
The tower dwelling type of residence was situated on the eastern side of the castle. (Learn more)
The hay house was evidently located on the eastern side of the castle. (Learn more)
Traces and remains of the house with a gable, tower dwelling and stairway. (Learn more)
Collections of stone balls are on the small bastion. (Learn more)
The foundation of a predecessor tower and part of the shield wall are the oldest remaining parts of the castle. (Learn more)
The harp creates gentle sounds when the wind is strong enough. (Learn more)
Its position was probably between the northwestern tower and the watchtower. (Learn more)
The well tower protrudes like a bastion from the eastern castle wall. (Learn more)
The lower enclosure wall was built in the style of medieval fortifications. (Learn more)